M8 options

Discussion and support for discontinued MoTeC ECUs, including M8

M8 options

Postby w460 on Sat Jun 29, 2024 5:00 pm

Hi to all!
Please may anyone help me to define.
I hve successfully connected to my m8 ecu and discovered that it has : Logging 512k, PRO logging and Lambda.
1.What is the difference between logging and PRO logging?
2. I want to buy C1212 dash. Will it work or Telemery option is needed to use them together?

My best regards!
w460
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 09, 2024 4:54 am

Re: M8 options

Postby greenamex2 on Sat Jun 29, 2024 6:23 pm

Pro logging allows you to use i2 Pro rather than i2 standard to analyse the data. Big bonus!
Yes a C1212 can read data from an M8. If you want to look at what is available download c1212 dash manager and have a play.
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M+ESDL3
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:06 am
Location: England

Re: M8 options

Postby SOReilly on Mon Jul 01, 2024 4:08 pm

Yes the C1212 can receive data from the M8 however they are not natively RS232. The M8 comms are TTL.

Back in the day this would require a CIM to shift the voltage levels to suit the RS232 interface of the dash. the CIM are no longer available.
SOReilly
MoTeC
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed May 04, 2022 12:28 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: M8 options

Postby greenamex2 on Mon Jul 01, 2024 6:43 pm

SOReilly wrote:Yes the C1212 can receive data from the M8 however they are not natively RS232. The M8 comms are TTL.

Back in the day this would require a CIM to shift the voltage levels to suit the RS232 interface of the dash. the CIM are no longer available.


So would a simple MAX232 based TTL to RS232 be OK or did the CIM do something with protocol as well?
Motec CDL3+M130+LTCD+MDD+PDM15+PDM16M+ESDL3
Nissan VQ30DE fitted to an AM Sportscars EX2 with a Hewland HP 2000
greenamex2
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:06 am
Location: England

Re: M8 options

Postby Stephen Dean on Tue Jul 02, 2024 11:19 am

To be honest, no idea. I haven't used one of those devices to attempt to communicate with an early gold box ECU, so I do not know if it would work, and we do not have any staff working here anymore that would know enough about both systems to be able to give a definitive answer.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
User avatar
Stephen Dean
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1641
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:29 am
Location: Melbourne


Return to Old ECUs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest