VCS versus other in cam loggers

Video Capture System

VCS versus other in cam loggers

Postby trainwrex on Wed Jun 29, 2011 4:07 pm

Guys,

I am looking at getting a in cam logger for track days and since i have a motec M800, SDL and SLM i was looking at the VCS unit.

I am not a professional driver and this is more as weekend track experience..

Now this is a fair bit more expensive to other units on the market inlcuding v-box, recorder kits (chase cam), race recall etc.

Does the MoTeC unit have much better software (MoTeC I2 PRO) over these other units to integrate all the parameters im looking at i.e lap times, braking areas, accleration, deceleration, temps etc etc..

OR

Alternatively if the MoTeC I2 software is much superior over other competitiors would it be better to get I2 PRO, GPS unit and link a video with i.e GoPRO unit??

Any help would be much appreciated..
alternatively would it b
trainwrex

Re: VCS versus other in cam loggers

Postby YuriK on Mon Jul 04, 2011 2:22 pm

Hi trainwrex,
Just to verify, your dash is an SDL not an SDL3. Is that correct?
YuriK

Postby trainwrex on Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:51 pm

Yes i have an SDL dash
trainwrex

Postby JamieA on Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:31 pm

To give you a quick summary.

The Go-Pro HD is a very good unit, and has probably the best picture quality (given that it is HD, the others you mentioned are SD)

The downside of many of the low end units are:
*they are standalone, so they take no inputs, and as such are just a video.
*they required batterys and charging, this can be very inconvienent at the racetrack
*They need to be started and stopped manually, easy to forget to record an important moment.

The MoTeC VCS is designed for motorsport, and as such is designed just for that purpose. it has these features that make it better:
*12v vehicle power runs the unit, no batterys or charging.

*CAN bus communications allows the MoTeC data systems to send and recieve messages to the VCS