Launch Control Using IGN

Information about MoTeC jet ski installations

Launch Control Using IGN

Postby PWCGUY on Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:31 am

I recently prurchased an M400 for Sea-doo RXP-X and wanted to setup launch control. This ski does not have DBW so this would need to be accomplished with Ignition timing cut to reduce power. I'm new to setting up these ECU's and the learning curve is steep so please bear with me. I went to the Ignition compensation tables and found that Comp 1 was already in use so tried to setup Comp 2. I setup the X axis to be TP but I could not define a Y axis in Comp 2. It appears to me that Comp 2 is limited to a one dimensional table or maybe there is another setup option that I don't know about ? :?:

Second question is in regards to what to use on the Y axis. The presentation I saw from PeteS shows the Full Throttle Timer on the Y axis. To me it seems that the Digital Input from speed sensor would be better as it would then only intiate launch control when accellearating from a low speed. There is no wheel spin on PWC so the digital speed sensor will always read true water speed. Has anyone tried this method ?

Last question is how do activate a compensation table from an external switch/button ?
PWCGUY

Re: Launch Control Using IGN

Postby PWCGUY on Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:33 am

Well I have been able to answer some of my questions so I will post what I think know so far:

1.) Iginition Comp 2 table is one dimensional and therefore can't be used to cut ignition based on throttle position and full throttle timer or water speed ( i.e. you can't use Ing Comp 2 table for launch control ). So You would have to use Ign Comp 1.