Switch input configuration?

Discussion and support for MoTeC Power Distribution Modules

Switch input configuration?

Postby supraholic on Fri Jul 08, 2022 11:39 pm

Hello MoTeC Gurus,

I'm new to the PDM world and currently setting up a PDM30 on my project car. All is going great so far. I have an iLift front air lift system installed and comes with a 2-way momentary switch: 'up' raises the suspension and 'down' lowers it as you might expect. Here is a snippet of the wiring diagram for the switch (pink wires):

I believe the switch pictured above is a simple low-side (momentary switch to ground). *EDIT*: using a multimeter I tested the voltage between the black wire and either pink wires and measured 2.7V so it's a low voltage input/switch. My question: is there a way i can configure a button on my MoTeC 8-button CAN switch with the PDM to activate 'up' and 'down' instead of using the analog switch? I read through the manual and did some Google searching but came up empty. With the PDM Manager software, can i setup 2 switch inputs that I can switch to 0v (black wire in pic above)? If this is possible with the PDM, setting up the CAN switch(es) should be easy. I really appreciate any guidance!

Regards,
Dan
Last edited by supraholic on Mon Jul 11, 2022 11:55 pm, edited 4 times in total.
supraholic

Re: Switch input configuration?

Postby Stephen Dean on Mon Jul 11, 2022 10:02 am

Hi,

From your description this can be done, using either directly wired inputs, or the keypad buttons.

If you can post your configuration and the diagram again, that would help.
Stephen Dean
MoTeC Research Centre Melbourne, Australia
Stephen Dean
Site Admin

Postby supraholic on Mon Jul 11, 2022 11:38 pm

Thanks for the reply Stephen! I fixed the link to the image in my post above. I'd love to use my motec CAN keypad for this scenario but i don't know where to plug in the 3 wires shown in the wiring diagram to make it work. Thanks for your guidance!