EJ20 Timing Issue when cold

Discussion and support for MoTeC's previous generation ECUs.

EJ20 Timing Issue when cold

Postby Vlad on Sat Nov 28, 2020 3:43 pm

I've been working with MoTeC for many years now, but sometime is just way more easy to share your thought with others. This is my M800 which i've fitted on my Subaru. It's a Spec C EJ20, at the moment, i do not have the cam control active in the ecu, but even so, the engine runs fine, with both cams retarded. My problem is when cold, the engine changes it's sound, like it has spark timing after tdc...after about a minute or so, it suddently jumps up from 1000 rpm to 1300, map goes down ,etc, i'm ataching the file and the log....i have checked 100 times the map....please see for yourselfs the log, and the cfg and have a thought about what's going on. The only thing i can think of is that over night, the cams advance or something (pushed by the valve springs). Dose the MoTeC calculate the timing by the sync sensor? ) Or use it just as sync? On this subaru pettern.
Attachments
20201127-0288301.ld
(327.91 KiB) Downloaded 541 times
STI 2004 JPR High Timing.e35
(72 KiB) Downloaded 548 times
Vlad Pescaru
JPR Engineering, MoTeC Authorised Dealer
Vlad

Re: EJ20 Timing Issue when cold

Postby Sean on Sun Nov 29, 2020 8:01 pm

Am I deluded, or is the ignition timing not matching what it's supposed to be from looking at the main table and the ign ET comp? Also it doesn't seem to get to the idle rpm target very often, or am I missing something (again). Right before the revs jump up it hits the target idle rpm, is the idle valve wide open up to this point then closing which is why the map is dropping. Lean maybe until the idle valve shuts down? I'm just throwing ideas out there :?

Possibly test again logging the 5 available idle control parameters, and set the lambda sensor to fast heat so you can see that too. If you have wired up for the cam control you can log the cam position without having cam control enabled.
Sean