Cam position sensors

Discussion and support for MoTeC's previous generation ECUs.

Cam position sensors

Postby Chris Wilson on Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:58 am

I am about to try and fabricate a cam position sensor set up on a Nissan RB26DETT Skyline engine, as I believe that the stock photo electronic "CAS" sensor is not always read cleanly by none stock ecu's? I am new to this, so pardon me if this is a daft question, please. I have vernier adjustable camshaft pulley wheels. Should I read the cam position from the hub, or the belt pulley part of the wheel? If you imagine looking at the front of the wheel / engine, will a sensor in front of the wheel reading a tab face on, read as well as from a tab on the periphery of the wheel? I believe I can mod the stock, sturdy and dowelled cast alloy CAS bracket to hold a sensor firmly, but it would need to read a tab from in front of the wheel.

Is there any good reason to favour a crank position sensor on the front or back end, (reading tabs on the flywheel, say), of an in-line six cylinder engine?

Thanks.
Chris Wilson

Re: Cam position sensors

Postby Chris Wilson on Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:13 am

Just as an addition, someone sent me some photos of a crank position sensor based on a ring fastened to the OUTER part of the stock, two piece, bonded rubber crank harmonic damper. So the teeth were on the outer ring, mounted, effectively, to the crank on the rubber ring. That doesn't seem a good idea to me, is it in reality an issue? Thanks.
Chris Wilson

Postby RossB on Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:54 am